Skip to content

Mitya, Katya, and Grushenka

December 9, 2009

ALYOSHA

Here she is!

KATYA appears in the doorway, with a dazed expression. MITYA leaps to his feet, with a scared look on his face; but then a timid, pleading smile appears on his lips and he holds out both hands to KATYA. Seeing this, KATYA flies impetuously to MITYA; seizes his hands; and almost by force makes him sit down on the bed next to her. Several times they both strive to speak, but stop short.

MITYA

(falteringly)

Have you forgiven me?

KATYA

That’s what I loved you for, that you are generous at heart! My forgiveness is no good to you, nor yours to me; whether you forgive me or not, you will always be a sore place in my heart, and I in yours–so it must be… What have I come for? To embrace your feet, to press your hands like this, to tell you again that you are my god, my joy, to tell you that I love you madly…

KATYA moans in anguish, tears streaming from her eyes. ALYOSHA stands speechless.

KATYA

Love is over, Mitya! But the past is painfully dear to me. Know that you will always be so. But now let what might have been come true for one minute. You love another woman, and I love another man, and yet I shall love you forever, and you will love me; do you know that? Do you hear? Love me, love me all your life!

MITYA

I shall love you, and… do you know, Katya… five days ago, that same evening, I loved you…When you fell down and were carried out…All my life! So it will be, so it will always be… Katya, do you believe I murdered him? I know you don’t believe it now, but then…when you gave evidence…Surely, surely you did not believe it!

KATYA

I did not believe it even then. I’ve never believed it. I hated you, and for a moment I persuaded myself. While I was giving evidence I persuaded myself and believed it, but when I’d finished speaking I left off believing it at once. Don’t doubt that! I have forgotten that I came here to punish myself,

MITYA

Woman, yours is a heavy burden.

KATYA

(whispers)

Let me go, I’ll come again. It’s more than I can bear now.

KATA rises and moves away, but suddenly utters a loud scream and staggers. GRUSHENKA has noiselessly entered the room. KATYA moves swiftly toward the door, but when she reaches GRUSHENKA, she stops suddenly.

KATYA (Cont.)

Forgive me!

GRUSHENKA

We are full of hatred, my girl, you and I! We are both full of hatred! As though we could forgive one another! Save him, and I’ll worship you all my life.

MITYA

You won’t forgive her!

KATYA

(whispers)

Don’t worry; I’ll save him for you!

Katya runs out of the room.

MITYA

And you could refuse to forgive her when she begged your forgiveness herself?

ALYOSHA

Mitya, don’t dare to blame her; you have no right to!

GRUSHENKA

Her proud lips spoke, not her heart. If she saves you I’ll forgive her everything…

MITYA

Alyosha, run after her! Tell her…I don’t know…don’t let her go away like this!

ALYOSHA

I’ll come to you again at nightfall.

ALYOSHA runs after KATYA and overtakes her outside the hospital grounds.

KATYA

Before that woman I can’t punish myself! I asked her forgiveness because I wanted to punish myself to the bitter end. She wouldn’t forgive me…I like her for that!

  • Has this final scene resolved the relationships between, Mitya, Katya, and Grushenka?

  • Which of the three do you think is most likely to be happy? And why?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Kait Mikitin permalink
    December 10, 2009 12:44 am

    If anyone is to be happy (and I really doubt that any of these three will be) I think it would be Dmitiri. He is the one who has owned up to the lot he’s been given in life and is ready to deal with it. Katrina is busy dealing with the guilt of betraying the man she supposedly loves and Grushenka is dealing with her hatred of Katrina and the pain of having the man she loves stuck in prison. Dmitri has got the girl, forgiven Katrina and is basically ready to repent for the sins he has commited and pay the price for evil earthly deeds in prison.

  2. Mara Magnavite permalink
    December 10, 2009 11:12 am

    Throughout the novel, I predicted that Alyosha would end up happy. At the end of the novel we are not told if Alyosha is truly happy or not, but we can conclude that he is the happiest one of all. Since leaving the monastery he has served as a teacher. At the end of the novel we see that Alyosha is with the boys, teaching them about love and good character. He tells them to never forget each other, to be themselves at all times, and most importantly never let their guard down. Alyosha may not have found love or be settled down in life but he is on the right path. Dmitri will be locked in prison and Ivan has lost his sanity. At this point, Alyosha has the most going for him and he is headed in the right direction.

  3. Mara Magnavite permalink
    December 10, 2009 1:00 pm

    I previously had read the above question wrong about which of the three would be happy. I thought the question was referring the the three brothers. However, in response to this, I do not think that any of the three will end up happy. Dmitri had the biggest chance of happiness. He was beginning to sort things out and have a grasp on the direction he wanted to go in life. However, he was convicted guilty and we be in prison for years and years unless he escapes to America. Katya and Grushenka both have a lot of things to figure out, most importantly themselves. Like Kait said, Katya just told the whole court that Dmitri, the man she loves, is guilty of the murder of his father due to the note he wrote her. Grushenka realizes she loves Dmitri and goes back to him after she had left to be with her first love. Do people who love someone act like this? I think both need to figure themselves out. Finally, based on the end of the novel, no one has a chance to be happy.

  4. Christine permalink
    December 11, 2009 10:50 am

    I agree that Dmitri is the only one who will end up happy of the three. Like Mara and Kait have said, Dmitri has realized the mistakes he made in life and wants to change. After his dream about the poor woman and child, he learned how to care for others and has made a change in the way he wants to live his life.

  5. Tania Andrade permalink
    December 11, 2009 7:49 pm

    Ultimately, the happiest, we can all conclude would be Dmitri because he was the first to repent himself of his sins and through his dream learned not to be selfish and to care for others. Katerina is going thtough the process, though she was selfish in testifying against Dmitri in court she asked him for forgiveness because she knew she had done it out of malice. And also asks Grushenka for forgiveness for ruining what Dmitri and Grushenka could have had. On the other hand Grushenka still has some way to go to be redeemed of her sins, she could not forgive Katerina until she was reunited with Dmitri in freedom. I think the relationships between Dmitri and Grushenka, and Katerina and Dmitri have been resolved because Dmitri has forgiven them. But i feel Grushenka is still to hurt and stubborn to fix her relationship with Katerina.

  6. Helen Beltran permalink
    December 12, 2009 12:04 pm

    As the people above have said, Dmitri is probably the one closest to gaining redemption and happiness. He has been convicted of his sins by his own conscience and he has genuinely repented and accepted his fate. Katerina has a lot of growing up to do. When she apologized to Grushenka, she really didn’t mean it. I think her apology to Dmitri was necessary but her declaration of love was uncalled for. Sometimes in life, there are things that shouldn’t be said for the benefit of others. This was one of those things. As for Grushenka, I think that she has every right to be angry. Katerina totally went back on her word in court. And, yes, she may have left, but she came back. She never claimed to love Dmitri and then betray him in court. I think when she realizes the futility of being angry with Katerina she will be able to achieve happiness.

  7. Jena Carvana permalink
    December 12, 2009 7:56 pm

    I definitely agree that Dmitri will probably be the happiest since he has repented -in a away- and come to terms with all that is behind and before him. I do have some hope for Alyosha too though. I feel like he has shown that he is level headed enough to be able to deal with his brothers, which gives me hope of him being able to deal with his crazy fiancé.

    Honestly, I think everyone is absolutely ridiculous.

  8. Mara Magnavite permalink
    December 13, 2009 11:25 am

    Again, I think Dmitri can be happy if he allows Alyosha to help him. Of the three brothers, we have the most hope for Alyosha, Father Zossima repeatedly told Alyosha to go out and to good in the world and serve as teacher. I think that Father Zossima was also referring to his own brothers as well. Early in the novel the family had met with the Karamazovs and had been fairly quiet the entire time. Some time after that he had told Alyosha to leave the monastery and go out and lead a good life. Alyosha eventually went out and began to teach. However, I think Father Zossima had high hopes in Alyosha and was referring to helping his brothers as well as everyone else. He deeply loved Alyosha and had told him how much he cared about him and how he had great potential in the world. In my opinion, Father Zossima had confidence in Alyosha that he could help his entire family to become more like him. He never did come out and directly say this, but rather it was up for Alyosha to figure out.

  9. Cary Thereon permalink
    December 14, 2009 7:42 pm

    I agree with the previous entries that Dmitri ends up the happiest of the three. He has repented his sins and has come to terms with everything that has happened, despite the fact that he did not commit the murder. He accepts his fate and as others have mentioned wants to change his way of living after his dream.
    As for the relationships between Mitya, Katerina, and Grushenka, I don’t think any of them have been resolved. Katerina’s apology to Dmitri seems sincere enough, but I don’t believe that she loves him. If she really loved him would she have thrown him under the bus in the first place? She was afraid people would believe Ivan’s confession and she really loved Ivan, which is why she brought forth the letter that Dmitri wrote to her in a drunken state claiming he would kill his father.
    The relationship between Grushenka and Katerina will never be resolved. Grushenka has pure contempt for Katerina, especially now that Katerina provided the ultimate piece of evidence used to convict Dmitri. Also, Katerina’s apology to Grushenka did not seem sincere to me.
    Lastly, Dmitri and Grushenka’s relationship can’t be resolved either because Grushenka will not forgive Katerina. Until Grushenka forgives Katerina, which will not happen until Katerina saves him, Dmitri won’t be able to be with her because Katerina played such a large role in his life.

Leave a comment